You may be thinking at this point that I’ve no skills at time management, given the sudden loss of posts on this blog.  You’re both wrong and right.  My time management tends to run as follows:

  1. Realize I have seven or eight tasks that need to be accomplished.
  2. List those tasks so that they’re staring me right in the face, and I can’t forget something.
  3. Work down the list until it’s all crossed out.

Fairly simple, yes?  Definitely. But the trick to that list and those tasks and a good portion of completion is to remember that no matter the length of the list, there’s something else going on.  Maybe I was supposed to have movie night with my husband, or maybe I had planned to get to the gym, but I’m the type that if there’s a to-do list and something major on the line (say, my GPA), then that list and I are the best of friends until it’s been properly wiped out.  Do I get my work completed? Yes. Do I get it completed on time? You bet.  Do I get stressed out and mildly wild-eyed because I forget to take a break?

Hoo-boy.

Here’s the trick: If you’ve got a hundred things to do and only half the time you want to do them, you still need to plan a few minutes’ rest in the midst of it all.  You’re no good to anyone if your brain’s gone to mush because all you’ve done for days and days is work without a break.  If you can work for four or five hours, go right ahead, but then take a half hour and watch something goofy.  Or read something that isn’t connected to your workload. Or call a friend.  Multi-tasking is all well and good, but it’s useless if, in the end, you’re more worried and stressed and sleep-deprived than when you started.

Tell you what, I’ll get you going.  Meet Tom Lehrer:

Now, take fifteen minutes, go to YouTube, and look him up.  Watch three videos, then get back to work.  I promise it works.  One of these days, I may take my own good advice.

